Skip to content

Movie Festival Recommendations

I was so fortunate this year to attend both the Sundance Film Festival in January and the Traverse City Film Festival in August.  As I picked up my Sunday NY Times this past week, I saw mention of a variety of movies that I got to see at these venues.  Here is my list of movies to see that are now trickling out at a theater near you (in no particular order):

1.  “The Intouchables“–see my earlier post devoted solely to this marvel.

2.  “Robot & Frank.”  Charming, delightful, thought provoking, and refreshing.

3.  “Beasts of the Southern Wild.”  I’m liking this one more as the days go by.  It gets under your skin.  Beautiful in that “Tree of Life” way.   Disturbing as well.  I’ve seen the word “magical” used.  I would agree.  You’ve gotta be in the mood though.  If you click through the link and watch,  you will get the vibe.

4.  “Whole Lotta Sole.”  Funny.  Brendan Fraser is a really good actor.  Why does that surprise me every time I see him become a role–even in “George of the Jungle”?  So interesting to see Belfast be the setting for a comedy.

5.  “Missed Connections.”  I hope this gem gets a distribution deal.  It is the classic film that will spread by word of mouth.  It just needs some big wig to see it and push it forward.  It is one smart comedy in the Judd Apatow-esque genre. You almost can’t laugh for fear you will miss the next hysterical line.

The “Missed Connections” gang at the TCFF

6.  “Hit n Run.”  Movie fun–car chases, unexpected violence, romance.  Fun cameos.  You can tell these guys are all great friends.

7. “Compliance.”  Wow.  What a disturbing show.  Being a psych major, I was so intrigued by the implications of this subject.  I read every article I see about it.  How audiences react to it is in itself a psychological study.  Hard to forget this one.

8.  “2 Days in New York.”  Very fun, adult comedy about family and relationships.  I had no idea Chris Rock could act and Julie Delpy is always a charming.

I wanted to see “Margaret,” “5 Broken Cameras,” “Detropia,”  and “Searching for Sugar Man” but can at least add them to my list.  That’s the great thing about a film festival–getting exposed to so many great films in so little time and then anticipating their releases.  Hoping to try out Tribeca and Toronto some day, but I will always remain faithful to Traverse City–so well run and so many great movies.

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Mary Modezjewski #

    Wouldn’t it be great if the new director of Fort Wayne’s Cinema Center adopts a version of “film festival?”.

    August 14, 2012

Leave a Reply

