Skip to content

Beautiful Veggies–plus bonus recipe!

Nothing beats the bounty of summer’s harvest.  And if you are lucky enough to live near an organic farm or have a local CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) co-op in your neighborhood, the ease of delivery and choices has never been better.

Luscious Eggplant–I wish they stayed this incredible color when they cook

My home garden is now overflowing with peppers–habanero, serrano, jalapeno.  I planted one, single itty bitty tomatillo (a member of the gooseberry family for you trivia lovers) and it is going wild!  I guess the heat agrees with it.  My tomatoes seem to be waning, so my dreams of a salsa garden aren’t going to come to full reality (oh yeah, and the cilantro is going to seed…oops!).  Never fear, my mom gave me a great tip for all those pesky peppers–wash off and freeze in plastic bags.  Then get them out and plop them in whole into anything that you want to impart some heat—soups, chili, BBQ.  Be sure to pluck out before serving!

My daughter’s home made gnocchi. OMG.

I was so lucky this summer to enjoy the harvest from Meadowlark Farms.  I loved how the veggies arrived complete with a delicious recipe or two.  Here is my go-to multi-vegetable recipe:

Roasted Veggie Quinoa

Assorted veggies–mix of whatever you have–red pepper, onion, garlic, zucchini, eggplant, squash, asparagus.  Washed and chopped.

Olive oil–enough to coat veggies.  I like garlic olive oil. Plus 3 T for dressing.

Kosher or sea salt and pepper to taste.

Quinoa–prepared as per directions on package.  Can be prepared in advance.

Juice of one or two lemons.

Roast veggies either on the grill or in the oven–400 degrees for around 15-20 minutes.

Chop after roasting, if you didn’t get around to that before!  Add to pre-prepared quinoa.  Add 2-3T additional olive oil and the lemon juice.  Mix gently.  Salt and pepper to taste.  Tastes great warm, room temp, or cold.

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. I have also found it very useful to roast eggplant ahead of time and then freeze them.

    September 5, 2012
    • That is a great idea! I will have to try it. Do you use them in sauces/stews later on? Do they get “mushy”?

      September 6, 2012

Leave a Reply

