Skip to content

Winter Walking in the City

We’re getting ready for some travel in THE city–NYC–and very excited, but I’m worried about my poor little feet.  How to look stylish, stay comfortable, be ready to hit the pavement and walk many blocks–these are age old questions.   But then add the element of  weather that may be cold, icy, snowy, rainy or all of the above?  My snow boots tend towards the outdoorsy or the ski resort look. For this trip, I want something urban and cool and grown up, but that won’t get ruined if I step into a slush puddle!

Zappos to the rescue!  I love that web site for ease of shopping, massive selection, and especially ease of return.  The other evening, in the comfort of my flannel PJ pants, I ordered 5 pairs of boots that seemed to fit my requirements.  After receiving the shipment in short notice and trying them on here are the winners:

The winner in the fashion forward category!

The winner in the fashion forward category!

LOVE these Aquatalia by Marvin K black suede numbers.  The 3″ heel is tempered by a 1/2″ platform.  They are super comfortable to walk in–you can really take a nice stride. I also like that the fleece top is subtle and not too thick and wide.  They look great with skinny jeans and with black tights and a skirt.  These will be my museum going, nice lunch pair!

The winner in the comfort, utilitarian category is….drum roll….

The Merrell Captiva Mid Waterproof!

I cannot over-exaggerate the comfort of these boots!

I cannot over-exaggerate the comfort of these boots!

While some of the reviews of this boot don’t give it high marks for being stylish, I kind of like it.  It feels a little like a chunky, motorcycle type boot that happens to be weatherproof.   And really, it is so super comfortable. I will be ready to walk many, many blocks in these without worries of sore feet or the elements.

So, NYC here I come!

Not expecting our weather to be quite this nice....

Not expecting our weather to be quite this nice….

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. Ainsley Lee #

    Thanks for the update… We are going to NYC in April and I was wondering what shoes I should wear… If you have any Spring ideas, do share!!

    January 31, 2013
    • I will think on that one. I do know that whatever I do with spring/summer shoes when I travel I always carry the Band Aid Friction Block Stick and some of their awesome blister band aids–so I can keep on going even when the going gets tough!

      February 3, 2013
  2. i have to say, the top pair doesn’t look so weatherproof or comfy for walking in NYC. i lived there and think you might need something with a lower heel / less of an angle to it. If you’ll be walking a lot the angle of the foot is very important in the comfort factor!
    k8

    February 1, 2013
    • Thanks for your comment! The boots are “weatherproof,” although I’m sure that is short of waterproof! I agree that the angle may be too much for lots and lots of walking, and I may live to regret my choice, but as Billy Crystal used to say sometimes “it is better to look good, than to feel good!”

      February 3, 2013
  3. Ironic thing: Not a bit of snow or slush on our trip! Left the fashionable boots at home. Still love them and am getting my price per wear…

    February 23, 2013

Leave a Reply

