Skip to content

Musings on Tennis Shoes

I’ve had a struggle with wearing tennis shoes in cities and on trips.  I have always felt too touristy or out of style, but my feet sure appreciate the support and ease of walking in tennis shoes.

I recently consulted with a fashion maven to see what her opinion might be about how to get around a city and still be on trend.  What to do?

Her advice was tennis shoes!  She had specific brands in mind, depending on your budget…

For the flush of bank account, behold the Lanvin tennis shoe:

 

Lanvin Suede Sneakers via Barneys.com.

Lanvin Suede Sneakers via Barneys.com.

Yes, Lanvin, the French fashion house, makes a tennis shoe!  It is adorable, I must admit.  So, instead of dropping beaucoup dollars on the stilettos you only wear once a year, why not get your price per wear with a tennis shoe?

Also saw these Golden Goose tennis shoes while perusing the Barney’s site–I like the skater boy look:

Golden Goose Tennie--image via Barneys.com.

Golden Goose Tennie–image via Barneys.com.

 

Oh the other side of the budget coin, consider Chuck Taylors by Converse.  Long worn by hipsters, musicians, and other creative types, Chuck Taylors come at a price point that is definitely easier to swallow.  I recently went on the Converse web site and you can even customize your own!  I’m debating on a pair of washed gray ones and think I may pull the trigger.  Maybe some bright colored ones for summer…

 

Chuck Taylors via The Finish Line.

Chuck Taylors via The Finish Line.

 

Marimekko/Chuck Taylor collab via Zappos.com.  Hits the black and white trend!

Marimekko/Chuck Taylor collab via Zappos.com. Hits the black and white trend!

 

Spring Time Chucks!  Via Zappos.com.

Spring Time Chucks! Via Zappos.com.

 

 

 

 

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. wendymoyle@shindigz.com #

    Melani –

    Always love your blog posts!
    Anyway – just in case you get the converse (I do read all the way to the end!) a note – they are not great touring shoes – not enough support and I find my feet are very sore at the end of the day. I like the support in the ones we bought much better – I wear my converse “around”

    hugs

    ________________________________

    March 1, 2013
  2. not sure i’d wear tennis shoes walking in a city. i think it’s cute when you’re younger to wear chuck taylors or something trendy, but when you get past a certain age, not so sure it works anymore. 🙂 for me anyway…..

    March 2, 2013
    • I was initially skeptical about the tennis shoe advice, but when I considered my source it helped me decide to go for it. I also think cute Nike or Puma’s are fun too. I get the “certain age” thing–for me, it’s usually about a certain amount of skin that I want to keep undercover! 🙂
      Thanks for your comments!

      March 4, 2013

Leave a Reply

